The back-up function of Moodle can be used for 2 purposes:
1. To archive your current courses for yourself.
2. To use the same course content in another course and/or with another class. For this, you need the back-up of old your course and then you need to restore it in an empty course.
Go to your old course. From the Administration block, choose Backup.
You will see this page. At the top you will see All/None.
Towards the bottom of the same page will see some options.
Click on the Continue button to create a back-up file.
Next, you'll see a long notice saying your back-up doesn't include User Data, which is OK.
You will also see the detailed lists of what you have backed up.
At the top you will see the name of your back-up file, which is a zip file. The name of the file will tell you the course name and the date.
Click on the Continue button to start the back-up process.
The back-up process will display messages showing its progress. The process might take long depending on the size of your course. Eventually you should get the "Backup completed successfully" message at the bottom.
Click on Continue to complete the back-up process.
You will be directed to your zipped back-up file.
Later on, you can reach this back-up file in your old course under the Administration block, under Files, in a yellow folder called backupdata.Where is the zip back-up file stored?
You can save this zipped back-up file anywhere you want on your computer by right clicking and choosing Save Target As.
If you see this, "Error: An error occurred deleting old backup data," try again later on. If the error persists, please contact email@example.com